Daily Archives: April 1, 2014

What would you do…

20140401-023236.jpg

Picture unrelated to title… A beautiful day out with friends

This question popped into my head when I was watching Master.Chef Australia yesterday. One of the contestants in the show is obviously Muslim (she wears a hijab/head scarf) and the meal they were required to cook was not halal (maple syrup glazed hot dog). The hot dog had bacon in it. In case you didn’t know strict Muslims only eat halal and anything from a pig is not considered halal.

And my brain was working overtime (as it always does, one reason I don’t enjoy massages and can’t meditate) and I asked myself the question “what would I do (or not do) for the sake of a competition?”

I know die hard fanatics would not go ahead but honestly I really don’t know what I would have done. I don’t watch the show regularly enough to know her story but she did say she was worried a day like this would come.

She did go ahead with cooking said meal but without tasting it – I think it’s torture to cook without tasting BTW. Or maybe I’m just not disciplined enough

Here are my questions to you –

Would you have forfeited or gone ahead with the completion?

Are you more disciplined than I am that you can cook a meal without even just one teeny teeny tiny taste?

And some random funnies:

20140401-023447.jpg

20140401-023531.jpg