(Wo)men’s race

Saturday was HOT, HOT, HOT (too hot for me considering I don’t like summer because of the heat). The maximum temp was expected to hit 32C ( 90F), and I am certain it was pretty close but I had fun despite the heat. I took part in a women’s race/walk and it was fun. The colour for the day was orange, so as expected we painted the city orange.

Let the race begin.

On your marks, get set, RACE

People, lots and lots of people. I hear at least 20,000 people took part, don’t know if it is true though.  But I tell you there were loads and loads of people

We painted the City orange (or peach) as the DJ called it.  Some people behind me, a stretch of about 1km

Even more people. Yes they look like ants or specks of orange but they are really people

Yep, there were that many people, this was a stretch of about 1km also of people ahead of me

It’s a women’s race, but men are allowed to take part only if they dress as women. (Most men don’t, but a few indulge us)   🙂  😉

Feast your eyes on some sexy wo(MEN)

Sexy officers (NOT), but they made us laugh and they got their pictures taken by almost everyone

Man in dress

Is this what men see when they look at us 🙂

Man dressed like a maid

Blondie 😉

And kids in pram

And Angels, Wonder if she flew?

Strolling to the finish line

YAY!!! We made it

Everyone who crossed the finish line got a medal (or should get one)

This chopper was hovering around for most of the duration of the walk

And this one just because

Yes we are extraordinary

I hope you enjoyed the walk? I had a nice Saturday, I hope you did too, no matter what you were up too

9 responses to “(Wo)men’s race

  1. I am so going to do it next year! Glad you did

    • It’a always fun. This was the 4th year in a row that I have done it and I always do the Joburg one too. I will remind you when the registration opens next year 🙂

  2. Wow, that’s amazing!! And you were there. And you are Extraordinary, well done!

  3. Wow! Congrats on completing the race. I did not attend this year’s race. Personal reasons

  4. That looks like a lot of fun! Wow, there were so many people there!

  5. Pingback: Painting the City PURPLE… | Hopes and Triumphs

Leave a Reply

