If Only…

This post has nothing to do with the picture or the title.

Hmmmmmm......

Hmmmmmm……

This post is really about my hubby’s niece. Her mum (my SIL) is busy teaching her double-digit numbers (or rather trying to figure out how to teach her). She is at that age where she thinks she is smarter than everyone around her – you know that age 3 going on 30. Her school has taught them up to 10. So her mama decides let’s get ahead of the curve and learn 11 to 20.

Well, let’s just say it is not going as planned. She argues with her poor mama all the way and can’t understand why “one and one” is suddenly 11 (eleven) or “one and two” is 12 (twelve).  The response is always the same – ” No mommy, not eleven, it is one and one” ” No momm, not twelve, it is one and two” You get the gist. She is not totally wrong, because 11 is really one and one. And she is one head strong girl…. I have told the mom to check for apps that might help or look for a DVD or just keep on teaching and hope she gets it eventually. No part of parenting is easy…..

It did make for a good laugh 😆  😆 😆  though I know my SIL doesn’t think it’s funny.

Any tips ? Please share if you have any secret formula that worked for you

Hope you are having a good week so far?

10 responses to “If Only…

  1. My way was just to priactice is over and over again. Each night I will sit and just begin to count along with my children until they remembered it.

  2. Maybe she should start with the concept before the written number. Picture of eleven apples instead of the number 11?

  3. Yep, pictures did an amazing job for us. Right now my daughter is an overachiever when it comes to Maths, and it all goes back to the pictures.

  4. Jake’s school taught them that it’s 10 plus 1 more, but instead of writing it as 10+1, they drop the zero in the 10, because that’s nothing anyway and put the one there. A little complicated for a 3 year old though, I suspect. if the physical objects/pictures mentioned above don’t work, I’d suggest giving her a little more time and she’ll catch on quickly when she’s ready X

  5. HAha. I think that one starts with concrete concepts first i.e counting 11 oranges or whatever. BUT, it may help to actually wait until she’s ready to take the next step.

  6. No help – I just sympathise with her. I also have a head strong 3 year old who believes she is right. I am leaving numbers up to the school though.

  7. why did I not see this post come through to my email? hmmm.

    I have one like that too…. who argues with me which way a J goes. NO Mummy a J doesn’t look like that, it’s like THIS (the wrong way).

    I just say, FINE, if that’s the way you want it! And ask Teacher Jennie to show you at school.

    Agree – concepts first.

    BUT I really love when they argue with us (in theory) as it shows they’re thinking critically 🙂

  8. I read this post earlier, and had to go back and read the answers just now. Our girls seem to love their numbers…thank goodness!…but they sometimes struggle with naming 11-19 when they see them written. For a long time we’ve had them counting by 5’s and 10’s and 100’s, so we go back to 10 + 1.

    A fellow mama friend of mine told me not too long ago that she read an article, on why some cultures seem to be so much better in math than others. She said part of it stems from the way our language is constructed. In Chinese (I think she said — don’t quote me!), she said the number 11 is said “ten, one” [or something along those lines]. Conceptually, when children learn to count, they’re getting the sense for what that number is already. In comparison, the number “eleven” does sound pretty random, doesn’t it?

    And I agree with Marcia…at least in some respects, having a strong head is a good thing. At least I try to tell myself that in certain situations. HA!

  9. Hi – missing your posts. Hope all ok?

Leave a Reply

