A lot going on…

I have a million and one blog post in my head but life has been busy and they remain in my head. I keep vowing to blog more but it just doesn’t seem to be happening.

A not so quick catch-up

 

Last week, I felt myself coming down with a cold but didn’t think much of it, mostly because anyone who knows me well knows that my nose is hardly ever dry (I used two boxes of kleenex in 2 days!!!!) but by Thursday morning I felt a full-blown bout of flu coming my way, fever, headache, body ache, runny nose. I left the office at noon, went straight to the clinic where I was told I would be charged R135 (about $12) extra for coming without an appointment. Seriously!!!! I was shivering and could barely talk, so this was the least of my worries, thank God for medical aid. By the way the earliest appointment was at 7pm, and this was just after noon!!! SERIOUSLY!!!!!

Got a throat swab done (never heard back from the dr, which is a good sign), was told I had a bad infection, got meds

A truck load of meds

A truck load of meds

headed home, managed to eat, take the meds and slept for about 6 hours. Woke up feeling like new. I hate meds by the way and always always ask for injections. Luckily, the dr gave me Friday off.

Saturday, I did a quick 5.6km walk (I am loving the Nike+ app, I should blog about it sometime) and then headed out to Marcia’s for the twin’s birthday! It was a pajama party and it was so much fun. Even most of the adults were in pajamas. K had a blast, she loves people watching. This party even gave me the confidence I need to consider maybe just maybe I would have a party for K’s 1st birthday

Some pictures from the birthday

Banana milk for a monkey themed party

Banana milk for a monkey themed party

We obviously got the memo because K was in dressed in a monkey styled outfit. Pity I didn’t get any proper pictures of her in the outfit

Notice the little monkey on the chest and the outfit also had a monkey face on the feet (use your imagination :) )

Notice the little monkey on the chest and the outfit also had a monkey face on the feet (use your imagination 🙂 )

The kids were busy busy busy and I couldn’t help but laugh when I was looking at some the pictures.

These two pictures below were taken after mommy clearly issued an instruction saying don’t touch the gifts so we can say thank you properly and know who gave you what…

The gift is almost as big as he is

The gift is almost as big as he is

sneakily checking out the gifts

sneakily checking out the gifts

Ps: I would also be excited if I got so many lovely gifts

And then I went to change (yes, I had my pajama pants on) and saw this in the bathroom and I couldn’t help but take a picture

Gotta love the instructions ...

Gotta love the instructions …

And came home to this…

Dust empire - Kitchen reno in progress

Dust empire – Kitchen reno in progress

I knew it was coming but I was in denial. My hubby got a bee in the bonnet and decided it was time to redo the kitchen. I said yes, naively. Naively you ask, I have never been through a construction, I assumed it would be a walk in the part, let me tell you, it is not for the faint hearted. Only thing that is keeping me going is that I have my eye on the price. At least I would finally have a well-functioning stove  (An interesting story on stoves. I have one of the stock standard de.fy brand stoves. I am not sure it ever worked well because even at the highest temp, I could do a quick 30 minutes drive before anything would boil on it. So I went to visit MIL one day and decided to cook at her house and put the stove on the highest which is what I do at home. Less than 5 minutes later I notice the pot boiling over and went to investigate. Only to realise the heat was too much. I felt like I was from the bush because I had gotten accustomed to my slow to heat up stove 😆 😆 my hubby had a big laugh when I told him. Thank heavens I didn’t burn anything) and oven after more than 3 years. Add to that a sick baby and hubby away for 3 days for work 

K came down with something, which she must have caught from hubby and I and is now recuperating. She also got loads of meds, luckily she only has to use them for 5 days which ends today

K's stash of meds. No I am not injecting her, the injection is for measuring the amount of saline solution that needs to go in the nebulizer

K’s stash of meds. No I am not injecting her, the injection is for measuring the amount of saline solution that needs to go in the nebulizer

 

My poor K at the physio... One more day and we should be done with physio

My poor K at the physio… One more day and we should be done with physio

Ps: It might be the version of explorer I am using but it is a mission and half plus more to do a good post from the computer, much easier on my iPhone

 

This weekend, I intend to rest as much as possible, it’s been a hectic week. Hope you had a week better than mine. Have a great weekend, whatever you have planned and if you are in SA, please keep warm xxx

9 responses to “A lot going on…

  1. Teehee, it’s so funny to see my house through someone else’s eyes. Did you see my kitchen notes? 🙂 It was driving me nuts so I made a checklist and now it gets done like magic.

    So glad you’re “thinking seriously” about a party. As I always say, you can do one on a budget that is still nice! Shout if you want ideas, etc.

    We have JUST finished the thank-you notes!

    Rest well this weekend and KICK that thing out of your body. Same for little miss K! I have nice pics of her outfit – I have 80 to go then I’m done with the party pics, and will send you some 🙂

    I totally feel your pain on the kitchen……………….. I’m very sure I’d go insane.

    • That’s the plan, to rest and get better. Had a bad headache this evening, I guess I still need to get better. K is much better thank God. She had a very long nap today and I’m nebulizing her now (or rather she’s having fun with it).

      Yes I saw the kitchen notes. Sibonile was there and I didn’t want her thinking your friends were crazy taking pictures of notes in the kitchen!!!

      Hopefully in another 2 weeks it would be all done and there will be some sanity in my house again.

      I’m sure you got some lovely pictures, can’t wait to see them.

  2. Poor poor baby hope she’s back to normal this weekend. Enjoy the building and start planning baby’s 1st part!!!

  3. Happy to hear that you didn’t stay under the weather too long. I hate meds too and try to sleep off all illnesses till my body tells me I’m fighting a losing battle.

    Hope Miss K pulls through pretty quick

  4. Shame I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been sick 😦

  5. Hope you and K will be well soon. Renovations is not for the fainthearted…living in the same house for 28 years.. with frequent additions, upgrades of bathrooms and kitchen. I have eaten enough cement dust to last me a lifetime.

  6. Hope you’re all 100% now! Good luck with the renovations – it is worth it in the end!

Leave a Reply

