We walked the talk…

Annually there are a few walks that I love to do and Walk the Talk is one of them. I have only missed one since I discovered this walk in 2009! It is usually done in July and usually very cold especially if you do any of the earlier races

You can see how cold it was just before 9am last sunday. And it stayed cold all morning because even after walking almost 13km, I left my jacket on

You can see how cold it was just before 9am last sunday. And it stayed cold all morning because even after walking almost 13km, I left my jacket on

This year I did the walk with the little miss. She loved it, was chatting way through most of the walk and exhausted by the time we were done.

I am not sure how this guy survived but it was freezing. Guess some people just don't get cold

I am not sure how this guy survived but it was freezing. Guess some people just don’t get cold

BUT there were just too many people and the first 2-3 km of the walk was a nightmare especially because I had a stroller

You ca't tell here but there were thousands of people. About 50,000 people register for this walk each here

You can’t tell here but there were thousands of people. About 50,000 people register for this walk each here

Sea of people, and this was after the crowd had whittled down a bit and spread across a wide area

Sea of people, and this was after the crowd had whittled down a bit and spread across a wide area

She kept turning around to make sure I was still there. My poor child has never seen or been around this many people and dogs

She kept turning around to make sure I was still there. My poor child has never seen or been around this many people and dogs

Crossing the finish line

Crossing the finish line

With my sis and K

With my sis and K

Getting a big kiss for being a good sport (pun intended)

Getting a big kiss for being a good sport (pun intended)

The sweet taste of success. Yes she got her own medal. Another first :)

The sweet taste of success. Yes she got her own medal. Another first πŸ™‚

This was before we began the more than 2km walk back to the car!!!

This was before we began the more than 2km walk back to the car!!!

Being pushed around for 13km is exhausting work!!!!

Being pushed around for 13km is exhausting work!!!!

I realised she was tired because she slept through a wardrobe change

Yes baby, you are pretty like mommy ;) ;)

Yes baby, you are pretty like mommy πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

This year there was no goody bag which was weird, but I have always said I would prefer the contents of the goody bag be donated to charity, so this didn’t bother me much

PS: And did I tell you, K and I got interviewed by SuperSport, I wonder if it made the cut!!!! She wasn’t in the mood though and refused to smile, she was just staring at the ginormous video camera

PPS: I have registered forΒ  5 upcoming walking events and I am super excited – all between 7 and 10km. I decided my max is about 12, but unfortunately I am yet to hear of a 12km walk, so for now I shall stick to 10km and work on increasing my speed.

16 responses to “We walked the talk…

  1. Wow I’m impressed. I also walk a bit with the stroller but this is hectic.. a lot of km’s wow good for you!

  2. Good for you ladies! You put me to shame and look good doing it! How do you stand the crowds though? I can’t do those walk/runs because of all the bodies, it’s so overwhelming. I’ll stick to my hikes!

    • It’s tough walking with so many people but it is always a lot of fun!!!

      And with a stroller it’s even much more difficult

      I tried hiking once and it is not for the faint hearted. Maybe when Kanyinsola is older, we’ll give hiking a try again

  3. Such beautiful photos!

  4. I also can’t stand the crowds, so much so I don’t even go to Eastgate πŸ™‚ So hat’s off to you!!!

    And yay for the first medal for little miss K!

  5. Wow, it always stuns me just how many people enter that walk! Looks like you had fun!

  6. I love your photos…K is a little doll…so sweet.

  7. I better watch Supersport! lol! As for K’s outfit change.. LOVE it!

  8. So awesome! The more you do races with K the more comfy she will be with the crowds of people for her to smile at and charm. xxx

Leave a Reply

