The one about Dentist…

IMG_6030.JPG

The dreaded chair 🙂

Most people I know have a deathly fear of going to the dentist. I DON’T!!! I’ve been going to dentist visits alone since I was 14 or 15 I think. I have absolutely no fear of them. NONE, ZILCH, NADA!!!!  I guess this must stem from battling with horrid toothache for years and then getting relief after one too many visits. I associate dentist visit with pain relief.  I think I can safely say suffering from said toothaches is responsible for my high pain threshold.

The only thing I don’t like about dentist visits –  the numb feeling when you get those injections and not being allowed to chew/ drink hot or cold things for a few hours. Luckily thanks to my high pain threshold I sometimes ask if the work can be done without said injection which my dentist kindly obliges

Anyway, for a few years now I’ve been doing to the same dentist, reason being that you don’t have to wait long to get an appointment ( you can call today and get an appointment in 2-3 days) and he usually leaves gaps for walk-ins. Something tells me it is because he is in a “not so palatable” part of the city, but it doesn’t bother me. Another reason – he sends his bill directly to the medical aid/insurance . I don’t have to shell out funds and then go through the process of claiming back.

IMG_6026.JPG

Sitting patiently waiting for the dentist yesterday.

I don’t miss my yearly appointments and usually I go twice a year for check up. Yes I’m efficient like that – lesson learnt.

Imagine my shock when I called to make an appointment earlier this year with my trusted dentist only to be told he had retired and sold the business. Shock Horror, his could he do that me. I promptly dropped the phone , that was in Feb!! Anyway I was reaching the one year mark so I decided to give the new dentist a try.

A bit of background, my previous dentist is an old-ish Cypriot, happy-go-lucky man. Who always had some Greek (or Cypriot – same same or not) music playing in the background while he went about his work in your mouth, I got used to it and used to look forward to the music.

And I was expecting he would have sold the business to someone older – wrong very very wrong.

No more….

IMG_6028.JPG

I sat in the chair yesterday and a GQ model walked in and the dental assistant beckoned and said that was the dentist. Hmmmmm ok, deep breath in and out. Silent prayer and hopes he knows what he is doing. I’m sure he is 30 years old! I’m used to older drs.

 

I wish a got a better picture – but imagine how odd it would look me trying to get his picture properly. He thought I was snapping the tools of the trade when I took this one.

 

Moral of the story. Don’t judge a book by its cover. He was very good and swift and I was in and out in about 20 mins.  Except there was no music – sob sob. All done and no pain. Till February. Yes I go every February and Aug/Sept

IMG_6027.JPG

That’s a tooth x-ray machine in case you are wondering

Now over to you –

Are you afraid of the dentist?

Do you go 2ce yearly as recommended?

When do kids have to go for their first dental appointment? I need to find a kid-friendly one for K, she has 2 pearly whites and we can see another 6 will be out pretty soon

Ps: I’m doing some picture organization. Much easier than I expected but I’m glad to finally be getting it done before it gets too overwhelming . 10.5 months worth of pictures which if you know me means over 2000 pictures 🙂 . 3.5 months done, 7 months to go, though it looks like I am missing some weeks, have to look for them tonight

 

Some cheerful pictures after all the talk about dentists

 

 

IMG_5249-0.JPG

This was taken after she got her last 2 vaccinations.

IMG_5900-0.JPG

Smile, you are on camera 🙂

IMG_5527-0.JPG

at 40 weeks old!!! Not camera-shy at all

14 responses to “The one about Dentist…

  1. I avoid it at all costs!!! I have never had teeth issues. I have never had fillings etc. I had my first root canal at about 25 and it has caused such issues :-/ So now I just ignore it all!

  2. Hate the dentist generally BUT I do love my Dr S 🙂 She is actually a friend of Cat’s 🙂

    Kids go when they have all their teeth (around 2 – 3). We went at 3.

  3. Haha, glad to see I’m not the only one taking photos of dentists. 😉

  4. Not a fan of the dentist because I have such horrible teeth! Every time I go, it’s usually because I’m in pain, I’ve had 4 extractions and will soon need dentures at this rate. Which reminds me, I need to book the kids in.. they haven’t gone this year. Love that dimple of K’s!!!

  5. I am not afraid of the dentist but it is not my doctoral visit of choice either… co-incidentally I am seeing the dentist tomorrow to fix not one but two broken molars!

  6. I don’t look forward to going to the dentist, but I feel better once I’ve gone. I can see why you miss the music. That was a fun touch!

    • Hi Theresa,

      After battling infertility and all the poking and endless visits everything else always just seems like a piece of cake and I just take it stride

      >

  7. I completely relate to that! I remember dreading my yearly
    ‘female’ check-up before battling infertility. I became much more mellow about it after so much “poking and endless visits.”

Leave a Reply

