Good things happen in threes…

Well then it seems bad things happen in fours (or maybe it is just me)

Yesterday was an interesting day.

Woke up bright and early, got some early morning cuddles with baby (daddy was out of town)

IMG_0180.JPG

IMG_0150.JPG morning selfie with the little miss before getting ready for work

Got ready for work, was rushing to be able to get in good time since I had plans to leave work in good time… Wishful thinking man proposes God disposes…

Thing 1: press the remote to open the gate it didn’t work, no big deal I know how to override, get down on my knees , open gate motor, press override nothing, tweak a few buttons, still nothing. Push, shove, pull gate wouldn’t budge! Hmmm I call the office PA to tell her I would be late need to get the technician to come fix gate. While chatting to her I notice thing 2!

Thing 2: I have a flat tyre – weird how did that happen . I must have picked up something that punctured the tyre because it was completely flat. So I tell PA I will try get a taxi and head to work. PA says “my dear, that’s a sign stay home and get your work done” I shall let the boss know you are working from home. Good thing I have access to be able to work from home. Granted I can do an ok job of fixing the tyre I did learn at 15 because my dad made me, in his words if you can drive you have to be able to change a tyre .

Technician is running late, fault with his car!!!

What did I do

IMG_0169.JPG

I stayed home and got lots of work done. Though I had to use my data (not cheap) but I can’t eat my cake and have it. I was not ready to take a taxi. It was a busy work day and I blazed through it with minimal distraction ( food for thought, all those side office chit chats while good for human interaction means less efficiency )

And being home I got to see this child wake up from her nap and I think she was happy to see me too

IMG_0164.JPG

That was her attempt at smiling when she woke up. Isn’t she just too cute!!!

Thing 3: after work was all done I decided to take a walk, I was getting cabin fever. Pack baby up in stroller check, change into work out gear check, open pedestrian gate to get out check. Lock pedestrian gate, no check – twist and turn – key broke into the lock! Damn . Hubby is still not back . Call locksmith he can fix it but needs to be paid in cash. BTW I saved the locksmith’s name in my phone as Locksmith Expensive – ha I’m sure there was a reason for that. Call out R450 , lock R295 after lots of exclaiming he gave me a whole R45 discount ($1=R11.1) . It doesn’t sound a lot but who carries so much cash around. These artisans need to move with the times and get pocket pos so they can accept cards for payments.

So my little companion and I head out for a quick 5km (through and fro) to the ATM to draw cash – then thing 4 happened

IMG_0263.JPG

Thing 4 – ATM not working!!! Luckily there was another bank’s ATM (I don’t know about you but I hate drawing cash and I even hate it more drawing from another bank’s ATM). Get cash rush back home, mr expensive is there. He fixes the gate in a whooping 5 minutes or less . I shuddered when I handed over the cash but I felt safer knowing my gate was locked again and won’t be left opened overnight!!!

IMG_0183.JPG

IMG_0189.JPG

Beautiful sunset while walking back from the ATM!

And that my friends was how I spent my Friday and how I concluded bad things must happen in fours 😆 😆

Hope you are having a nice weekend

Ps: technician only made it to fix the gate today!

7 responses to “Good things happen in threes…

  1. oh dear! That is DEFINITELY a sign 🙂 🙂

    But so nice to be home for Miss K!

  2. I had a good laugh at your misfortune but I’m sure it wasn’t funny at the time. Crumbs I think it was just one of those days.

  3. Sheesh! What a day…

  4. Heavens, what a day! Maybe there was a good reason for you to stay at home and God was watching out that you are not on the road?

  5. That was quite a day! I love your “Mr. Expensive” name for the gate technician. Too funny! Beautiful photos!

Leave a Reply

