Daily Archives: June 2, 2014

Yoghurt Oatmeal Muffins…

Marcia posted the recipe for this muffin last Saturday and seeing as I hadn’t baked anything in a while, I decided to give this a try. Plus they did look super easy.

    Recipe and Instructions, as taken from Marcia’s blog

“Ingredients
1 cup oats (any, I’m not fussy)
1 cup yoghurt (again, anything although the recipe says plain yoghurt, I like to jazz it up with a flavoured yoghurt. The flavour is very subtle = DELICIOUS! Last week I had strawberry so strawberry it was)
1 egg
1/2 cup oil (I always put slightly less oil in any recipe – like 50 ml – somehow it makes me feel more virtuous? and fill it with milk)
1/2 cup sugar (same here – I used 3/4 cup which is plenty of sugar)
1 1/4 cup self-raising flour (or plain flour plus 1 tsp baking powder)
Any extras you like is optional – 1 banana, chocolate chips, raisins (last week I threw in a large handful of raisins)

Instructions
Preheat oven to 220 Celsius (mine is a VERY hot oven – like its owner, hahaha – so I turn it down to 180 once it reaches 220 for the actual baking)
Mix the oats and yoghurt and leave in the fridge for about 30 mins.
Stir in egg, oil, sugar and the flour last
Remember with muffins, no over-mixing, just enough to combine
I find that I need a little bit of milk at the end. Just a splash. You’ll feel it when you can stir comfortably. ”

I am not very good at following recipes (If you didn’t know, now you know) except when I make my favourite baked cheese cake. I should share the recipe sometime.

What did I do

I used 500ml of Lactose Free Low fat yoghurt (because the rest would have stayed unused for a while and that was what I had available) – When it comes to milk and yoghurt I can only take lactose free, but ice-cream, anything goes (go figure)

More yoghurt means it was wetter than should have been so I added another 1/4 cup of flour and 1/8 cup of sugar. I left the oil as it was. When I bake sweet stuff I always add a pinch or two of salt.

I also didn’t follow the instructions. Luckily the recipe is idiot proof. I mixed all the wet ingredients together in one bowl and all the dry together in another and then proceeded to mix both together. Seeing as I didn’t read the instructions, I obviously did it in shorter time. The original recipe calls for mixing  the oats and yoghurt and leaving in the fridge for about 30 mins. My inner mind knew I couldn’t wait for that long to taste my creation 😆

 

Yoghurt Oatmeal Muffin

Yoghurt Oatmeal Muffin, waiting to go into the oven. You can see the raisins

I left a batch plain, added raisins to some (these were my best, biased view as I love raisins in almost anything) and added banana to the rest. Popped into the oven and 15 minutes later they were ready

It is a big miracle they came out looking instagram-worthy. I have a very temperamental oven (some days you turn the dial to 100C  and it is like a fiery furnace and other days 260C is as cool as cucumber), I think the thermostat is out of sync

Yoghurt Oatmeal Muffin with Raisins

Yoghurt Oatmeal Muffin with Raisins

Yoghurt Oatmeal Muffin

Plain Yoghurt Oatmeal Muffin

The verdict, they were the indeed one of  the  yummiest and easiest muffin I ever made. We had them for breakfast yesterday and I have a few left which I plan to demolish over the next few days .  My hubby liked them, but he can be a bit anti-healthy snacks (I think he would have preferred it without the oats). I shall try a combo next weekend without the oats and reduced yoghurt and let you know how it goes.

 

Thanks Marcia…